Excerto da partitura da Cantata BWV 147, de Johann Sebastian Bach (estreada em 1723). Esta obra foi originalmente orquestrada para coro, trompete, oboé (opcional), viola e baixo contínuo.

Texto original do hino alemão de Martin Jahn (c. 1620-c. 1682), musicado por Johann Schop (1642), e apropriado por Bach na sua Cantata BWV 147
Wohl mir, daß ich Jesum habe,
o wie feste halt’ ich ihn,
daß er mir mein Herze labe,
wenn ich krank und traurig bin.
Jesum hab’ ich, der mich liebet
und sich mir zu eigen giebet,
ach drum laß’ ich Jesum nicht,
wenn mir gleich mein Herze bricht.
—from BWV 147, Chorale movement no. 6

Jesus bleibet meine Freude,
meines Herzens Trost und Saft,
Jesus wehret allem Leide,
er ist meines Lebens Kraft,
meiner Augen Lust und Sonne,
meiner Seele Schatz und Wonne;
darum laß’ ich Jesum nicht
aus dem Herzen und Gesicht.
—from BWV 147, Chorale movement no. 10

Tradução em inglês
Well for me that I have Jesus,
O how strong I hold to him
that he might refresh my heart,
when sick and sad am I.
Jesus have I, who loves me
and gives to me his own,
ah, therefore I will not leave Jesus,
when I feel my heart is breaking.
—from BWV 147, Chorale movement no 6

Jesus remains my joy,
my heart’s comfort and essence,
Jesus resists all suffering,
He is my life’s strength,
my eye’s desire and sun,
my soul’s love and joy;
so will I not leave Jesus
out of heart and face.
—from BWV 147, Chorale movement no. 10